Music Small Hall


Les altres músiques del s.XX Copland, Piazolla and Laia Vallès (estreno)

Acadèmia 1830



November, 30

8 p.m.


90 minutes

Recommended age

From 8 years

The program we offers the aesthetics of two American composers of the 20th century, so that people lose their fear of listening to the different music of the 20th century: A. Copland and A. Piazzola.

From Aaron Copland we will hear his Appalachian Spring, suite from the original ballet of the same title. Work commissioned by na Martha Graham, one of the great transformers and promoters of dance in the 20th century. The work was written and premiered in its original version for 13 instruments in 1944, in the midst of World War II, and the following year it was awarded the Pulitzer Prize.

Astor Piazzola revolutionized Argentine tango with his new style. He studied in France with Nadia Boulanger and later returned to Argentina and continued working with A. Ginastera, who had studied with A. Copland in the USA. Therefore there is a stylistic and thought link between the two composers of the program.

Finally, the work of the young Mallorca composer Laia Vallés, winner of the Institut d’Estudis Baleàrics in the 2021 edition, is premiered.

Orquestra Acadèmia 1830
Director: Fernando Marina